OPNsense insists that DHCPv6 server is active when I've got it disabled

Started by nray, July 27, 2025, 05:44:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Quote from: franco on January 09, 2026, 01:07:26 PMLAN has Track6 mode by default which launches DHCPv6 and Radvd.

This was not obvious to me when I did a fresh install and tried to change from ISC to kea or dsnmasq. After reading this entire thread, it now makes even more sense. I am on kea and IPv6 works perfectly.

Things are likely changing in the default install of 26.1 as we're trying to unwind these implicit IPv6 behaviours steered from the interface settings  we've inherited.  They don't really work in a post ISC DHCPD world.


Cheers,
Franco

For me the issue seems to be an old DHCP/DHCPv6 configuration in config.yml which is not necessary anymore as I moved from ISC DHCP to DNSMASQ. I have created a backup of config.xml. Removed the <dhcp> and <dhcpv6> bock and restored the firewall from this config. This fixed the issue.

Quote from: Remington on September 17, 2026, 10:32:57 PMFor me the issue seems to be an old DHCP/DHCPv6 configuration in config.yml which is not necessary anymore as I moved from ISC DHCP to DNSMASQ. I have created a backup of config.xml. Removed the <dhcp> and <dhcpv6> bock and restored the firewall from this config. This fixed the issue.
At the risk of derailing this thread ever so slightly: I used ISC before and switched to KEA not too long ago and - after looking at my config file for the first time ever - I also noticed a <dhcp> block. (Never had ipv6 active.)

Perhaps it would be a good idea, if at the time of uninstallation of a plugin, there was an option to erase the configuration block of that plugin, e.g. by having an additional popup querying, whether to erase that data. Obviously that would require additional entries in the metadata of each plugin as to where to find the configuration block(s). So if that additional metadata weren't present, that option to erase the config data wouldn't be available.

Quote from: tangofan on September 18, 2026, 09:44:58 PMPerhaps it would be a good idea, if at the time of uninstallation of a plugin, there was an option to erase the configuration block of that plugin

- System > Configuration > Defaults > Components
- Select "Services: ISC DHCPV4 [legacy] [dhcpd]"
- Click on "Reset"
- Repeat for DHCPV6

HTH,
Patrick
Deciso DEC750
People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do. (Isaac Asimov)

Maybe we should simply retire these validations?

https://github.com/opnsense/core/blob/4fe0a5e9df42792/src/www/interfaces.php#L387-L392

I don't think there are any other pitfalls with the plugin not installed.


Cheers,
Franco