English Forums > Hardware and Performance

Comcast gigabit and OpnSense slow speeds.

(1/3) > >>

LostnIL:
Hi Everyone.

I am new to OpnSense and I was wondering if it is possible to achieve gigabit downloads with Comcast (DOCSIS 3.1 modem) with OpnSense?

Comcast > My Own Modem (DOCSIS 3.1) > Proxmox VM

i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
NVME
64GB of RAM, 8 dedicated to OpnSense VM.

Testing from Comcast Cable (xx.xxx.xx.xx)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by i3 Broadband () [1.86 km]: 35.827 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 619.69 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed...
.Upload: 39.37 Mbit/s

I've read a lot on the internet but I can't seem to get my speeds above 620 Mbit/s. Has anyone had any luck with similar setups?

bunchofreeds:
I'm getting Gigabit (900/400 is my internet) through my OPNsense running as a VM on Proxmox.
My Proxmox host hardware is less than yours but I do have an additional dual port 82576EB Intel card. These external Intel ports are attached to two linux bridges, one for WAN and one for LAN.
Pretty simple and straight forward setup.
I'm using virtio NIC's for OPNsense.
I have not applied any tunables to OPNsense.
OPNsense has 8GB RAM, 4vCPU, 10GB Disk backed by SSD.

Another VM on the same host and connected to LAN (vmbr2) blasts 900/400 using the speedtest.net CLI tool.
This is a Windows server 2019 guest.

A Physical Desktop connected to a switch and then to the Proxmox host via LAN also tests 900/400.

So it certainly is possible.

Are you using Intel NIC's? I hear anything else is problematic but can't confirm this.
Are you testing using the Speedtest.net CLI tool and not the standard web browsed method?
Have you tried iPerf3?

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Xtreme Networks
        ISP: 2degrees Mobile
    Latency:     1.81 ms   (0.24 ms jitter)
   Download:   915.50 Mbps (data used: 460.4 MB)