English Forums > Intrusion Detection and Prevention

Opnsense security feature

(1/2) > >>

Ashwini:
Hi,

I am new to Opnsense.
Is it mandatory to have internet connection to use security feature of Opnsense?
I see there is a "Download and Update" option in IPS for installing few rules.
My question is can i download all rules and update at once and use it later without internet.
Will my Opnsense work perfectly without internet after updating once?

thanks in advance

phoenix:
I don't really understand your question, what would be the point of installing OPNsense if you're not using an internet connection? What is it you're actually trying to achieve?

Ciprian:

--- Quote from: Ashwini on March 20, 2018, 11:15:51 am ---Hi,

I am new to Opnsense.
Is it mandatory to have internet connection to use security feature of Opnsense?
I see there is a "Download and Update" option in IPS for installing few rules.
My question is can i download all rules and update at once and use it later without internet.
Will my Opnsense work perfectly without internet after updating once?

thanks in advance

--- End quote ---

To answer your question without other questions, YES, you CAN do that.

Now I have a question: what are you trying to protect/ secure since there is no internet involved? If you are using OPNsense just to connect/ route private networks, the approach is a totally different one.

Cheers, good luck!

franco:
Some lab environments require this. Some plugins won't work, but you can even bring updates into your private network for the OPNsense to use (it's a web server, rsync + enter firmware mirror URL).

Cheers,
Franco

Ashwini:
Hi,

My aim is to achieve below settings:
I have one hardware which has Opnsense(behaves as router and firewall) set up in vmware with no internet access. And i have a server where i have internet access. Other machines in network will have to communicate with this server.