English Forums > Web Proxy Filtering and Caching

New setup (newbie) issue with Web filter & internet access

(1/2) > >>

im_etten:
I am new to OPNSense and I am trying to do some setup/testing on the install.

I have a default install of 18.1.4. I have internet access and have setup DHCP. Everything works.

I then followed the user manual on how to setup web filtering. The last step is to disable the proxy bypass via a firewall rule. Once I do this I am no longer able to access the internet. If I disable the rule I gain access to the internet.

What else do I need to setup to get this to work?

My intent is to setup web filtering for all devices connected to the network. I don't want to setup any caching or authentication. If I log on to the network with a PC, I want the web filtering to block out any categories I select.

Thanks in advance.

HenkH:
Hi im_etten, just like you i'm a newbie and it happens that i tried the same today. I also did not have access to internet after inserting the firewall rules to deny proxy-bypassing.

In my case i found that i did not configure my browser to use the proxy (the IP address of the LAN port and port 3128 by default). Maybe this is also the case in your situation?

I found a screenshot (https://wiki.opnsense.org/manual/how-tos/cachingproxy.html) in the howto about a caching proxy for Mozilla Firefox which depicts how you could configure Firefox. It is below the heading "Configure browser/Firefox". In Firefox you can find the setting going to "preferences", network proxy is at the bottom of the "general" settings page. After this, it should work, if not, restart Opnsense. After adding this setting and restarting Opnsense it worked fine for me!

velvetbrain:
Thank you guys for posting.

Apologies for resurrecting a dead thread.

I thought the idea of a transparent proxy was that we didn't have to modify the client side. 
see here: https://www.expressvpn.com/blog/transparent-proxy/