English Forums > Intrusion Detection and Prevention

If stateful, why do I need to allow "out" AND "in" on WAN interface?

(1/1)

BillyJoePiano:
Someone please explain this to me.  I am trying to configure the firewall rules for a new installation of OPNsense, and this is my first time using it.

Every other firewall at layers 3 & 4 which I've configured in the past -- iptables in Ubuntu, ipfw in FreeBSD, Cisco, and PaloAlto -- maintains a state for outgoing packets to the WAN/Internet.  We can allow NAT'ed packets "out", and if the firewall is stateful then the response packets are also allowed in under that stateful "allow out" rule.  We should NOT need to create another unrelated "in" rule which allows these response packets, since they are already allowed by the statefulness of the "allow out" rule.  No?

Unfortunately, in OPNsense, I have been unable to get internet access from my LAN unless I allow both "out" AND "in" for the rule on the WAN outside interface, and it only works in the floating rules section where I can say "any" to direction.  This seems to be a major security risk, given that we do NOT want to "allow in" packets which are not stateful responses to a conversation which was initiated from the inside (...unless they are going to the DMZ server, but that is another special set of rules).

Also, I am having another problem -- In trying to troubleshoot this issue, I have been unable to get the default deny to show up in the logs, even though it says it is being logged.  I even tried adding my own default deny to the Floating rules (a "last match" deny) and enabled logging on that, and the denials are still not showing up in the logs.  What is going on here?

Thanks in advance for your help with this.

Demusman:
You're thinking is backwards when it comes to opnsense.
All you need is "in" rules unlike other firewalls. I don't even know why there's an "out" option to be honest.