Archive > 22.7 Legacy Series

Unable to Ping VLAN Gateway

(1/4) > >>

CruseOPNsense:
Hello, this is my first OPNsense setup and I'm unable to ping the VLAN I've established. This is a fresh install with the default LAN subnet 192.168.1.0/24 and WirelessVLAN (VLAN TAG: 15) at subnet: 192.168.15.0/24. I've followed some guides and YouTube videos online to establish my configuration as follows:

Establishing VLAN Interface:

Enabling the Interface:

Setting a Static IP:

Firewall Rules Assigned to VLAN:

Ping from Firewall:

Ping from Computer on VLAN:

Items to note:

* Firewall is not connected to the internet
* Don't believe its a hardware issue as this is the second host I'm trying this on
* It is a physical bare-metal install of OPNsense 22.7
I appreciate all the help in advance; again, this is my first time installing OPNsense so I may be missing something easy.

amichel:
Hi these questions comes into my mind.
Are you sure that your PC is on the correct VLAN?
Do you get an IP Address by the DHCP server?
Did you configure this on your WLAN router?
I had to configure this also on my WLAN Access Point and on my switches to tag the Packets correctly.

amichel

CruseOPNsense:
Hey @amichel, thank you for the reply; my answers are below:

Are you sure that your PC is on the correct VLAN?
I believe so, I manually assigned its IP within the VLAN subnet (192.168.15.0/24)

Do you get an IP Address by the DHCP server?
No, I manually assigned its IP address

Did you configure this on your WLAN router?
Currently, there there are no Access Point's (AP) or switches on my network. I have the computer connected directly to the OPNsense box (Added a network diagram below)

Thanks again!

CruseOPNsense:
So I added a switch to the network: