Archive > 21.7 Legacy Series

Port forwards for an old game server - simple task but can't make it work

(1/2) > >>

Mencius:
Hello all

I am trying to host an old game server (UT2004) to play with a few friends but I cannot get the port forwarding to work. The game server needs UDP ports 7777, 7778, 7787 and TCP port 28902. I have researched this thoroughly and set it up as best I can but I am a beginner (relatively) and I am struggling to understand why it won't work.

I believe my interfaces are simple. I have 1xLAN and 1xWAN interface. I am using IPV6 and IPV4. WAN is by DHCPV4 and DHCPV6. The IPV6 WAN is track interface with the LAN DHCPV6 server also running. The IPV4 LAN is just 192.168.1.0/24, no other subnets, VLANS or anything else. I am also running the UPNP plugin.

I have made no changes to the default firewall rules.

I wish to forward traffic to a LAN PC which is 192.168.1.6. My port forward rule and aliases are in the attached screenshots of the same name. I enabled "reflection for port forwards" and "automatic outbound NAT reflection". When creating the port forward rule I chose the "add associated filter rule" option and there is a linked rule present in the firewall WAN rules.

However, my game server is unreachable, nobody can connect.

Did I misconfigure something? Can I provide any other information that would help determine what is wrong?

I would be very grateful for any help or suggestions.

Greelan:
Did you “Apply” after creating the aliases?

Mencius:
Hi, thanks for the reply. Yep, I applied and saved as I went.

Greelan:
Can’t see anything obviously wrong with your config. Have you checked the logs to see if traffic is flowing (with logging enabled for the port forward obviously)? Maybe it’s a firewall issue on the PC?

Mencius:
Thanks very much for looking at the settings. I haven't tried logging yet but it's great to know there's nothing glaringly wrong with my setup as I wasn't sure if I'd done it right.