English Forums > Tutorials and FAQs

Trying but failing to port forward

(1/1)

seithan:
Hi and thanx in advance for any help you provide!

Small preface, I'm new to OPNsense and how it works but its fortunately part of my job and besides being supposed to manage it and expand it, I'm also pretty eager and enthusiast to learn!

I've installed OPNsense on VMware on an old netbook (fast ethernet, usb2.0, dualcore AMD C50 but using one core, 512MB ram allocated) and the second machine im working with is a Pi4 with 8Gb ram.

Topology is everything connected to a 1Gb ports u-switch, the switched connected with the modem router.

Using the same subnet for both OPN-wan and OPN-lan, that is "Bridged Automatic" on the Netbook.
---------------

One of the things I'm trying to achieve is get VNC calls from the web, through router->OPN->clients.

Successfully port forwarded my DDNS calls from the router, with port ranges from 5900-5904 to OPNsense.

As far as I understood, by default, OPN will auto-redirect calls from its WAN-side (wan-address=192.168.1.253) to the LAN-side (lan-address=192.168.1.1), so I went ahead and created a "floating" rule as follows:

LAN, IN, IPv4, TCP/UDP,
Source:Any, Source port-range:5900-5904
Destination:192.168.1.1, Destination port-range:5900-5904

..and a NAT port forwarding:

LAN, IN, IPv4, TCP/UDP,
Source:LAN Address (im assuming that's the OPN-Lan interface id, "192.168.1.1" for my case)
Port: 5901
Destination: 192.168.1.91, Destination port: 5900 (VNC)

So what I'm trying to achieve is accept any incoming calls on Port ranges 5900-5904 on the OPN-LAN address, then hold a specific port and redirect it to a specific client (on client's default VNC port, 5900).

What I get on the firewall log is Defauly Deny Rule.

--- Code: ---ack
action [block]
anchorname
datalen 0
dir [in]
dst 192.168.1.1
dstport 5901
ecn
id 37084
interface em0
interface_name lan
ipflags DF
ipversion 4
label Default deny rule
length 60
offset 0
protoname tcp
protonum 6