Archive > 18.7 Legacy Series

Traverse Viking ADSL2+ PCI Modem

(1/1)

pierrebl:
Hello,

As it's my first post, i'd like to say thanks to everyone who have been working on this! I've been using OPNSense for a few years now and I'm very happy with it.

I'm running OPNSense on a Soekris net5501-70 with a Traverse Viking ADSL2+ PCI Modem card since 2011 (well, started with m0n0wall at the time of course ;). It has always been working pretty well out of the box as far as I remember, never had to check or compile anything. But with newer versions of OPNSense, I have an issue with the PCI card.

For info, it's an ADSL2+ PCI Modem with a 8139C+ chipset from Realtek. It's shown as an ethernet card and use the "re" driver included in FreeBSD.

When I upgrade to 17.7, the card is not recorgnized anymore. I knew it was a driver issue because when i copy from /boot/kernel.old/ the old driver file if_re.ko to /boot/kernel/, the card is recognized again. A look at the driver commits confirms it (https://github.com/opnsense/src/commits/stable/18.7/sys/dev/re)

I'd like to know if it's possible to rollback to a specific driver or if i should recompile my own kernel for my Soekris.

I tried to follow some help here related to Realtek drivers: https://forum.opnsense.org/index.php?topic=9644.msg43933#msg43933

--- Code: ---# opnsense-update -kr 18.7.2-re
Fetching kernel-18.7.2-re-i386.txz: .. failed
--- End code ---

But as you can see, it failed.

Here are a few commands output:

--- Code: ---# uname -a
FreeBSD io.lan 11.1-RELEASE-p17 FreeBSD 11.1-RELEASE-p17  bf74bfa8a63(stable/18.7)  i386
--- End code ---

--- Code: ---# pciconf -lv
none1@pci0:0:14:0:      class=0x020000 card=0x813910ec chip=0x813910ec rev=0x20 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.'
    device     = 'RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
--- End code ---