OPNsense Forum

English Forums => 18.7 Legacy Series => Topic started by: jantypas on September 02, 2018, 06:59:49 am

Title: Do I make the jump to OpnSense from pfSense 2.4.3.1
Post by: jantypas on September 02, 2018, 06:59:49 am
The subject says it all --- I've got some pfSense boxes that are working fine, but I want to know what I'm in for if I make the jump to OpnSense.  Things that tempt me are:


If I make the jump, what are some things I should watch out for?

Looking for the advicve -- thanks all.
Title: Re: Do I make the jump to OpnSense from pfSense 2.4.3.1
Post by: franco on September 03, 2018, 03:58:12 pm
Hi there,

> pfSense seems to really want to be a hardware solution these days.  If I wanted that, I'd be buying more Mikrotik WISP equipment

That sounds reasonable. :)

> pfSense seems slow to gain access to newer hardware and support support -- newer LTE modems that appear as ethernet devices and don't support PPP for example

As this is probably FreeBSD related as well I don't know if this will be different for us.

> pfSense truly doesn't like Comcast V6 Business service unless your modem support V6 PD

Not knowing the issue it could be the same problem for us.

> Can I just load my own pfsense configs?

Section by section import *may* work, while "system" settings definitely doesn't and "firewall" is complicated with all the changes between both projects. Other sections should work ok given that you double-check afterwards.

> Does ZeroTier run in bridged-modem

I don't know.

> What standard pfSense modules don't work

All the packages. We replaced them.


Cheers,
Franco