OPNsense Forum

Archive => 17.1 Legacy Series => Topic started by: Animosity022 on May 12, 2017, 01:44:49 pm

Title: High CPU interrupt
Post by: Animosity022 on May 12, 2017, 01:44:49 pm
I've been toying around with trying to traffic shape my gig internet (1st world problems).

I've searched a few things to try to toy around with trying to reduce the issue but haven't found much so far.

I use telegraf/grafana to capture my metrics:

(http://i.imgur.com/vsKYsK1.png)

I've looked at the PFSense things here -> https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Tuning_and_Troubleshooting_Network_Cards

That didn't seem to change much if I played around with some of those tunables.

I read something about polling in PFSense, but I didn't see the same type of screen in OPN. Does that exist?

Any other thoughts?
Title: Re: High CPU interrupt
Post by: phoenix on May 12, 2017, 02:51:26 pm
You haven't really given much information, as far as I can see. ;) Are you saying this 'high' cpu is caused by traffic shaping? If you are, what changes have you made to that?

Which of those settings have you modified and left in place? What hardware is this running on and how much RAM? Is it a VM or bare metal? If it's a VM, which hypervisor? Which NICs (make and model) are you using? Do you use the IPS/IDS features?
Title: Re: High CPU interrupt
Post by: Animosity022 on May 12, 2017, 03:24:28 pm
It's not a VM, but physical machine. Intel i7 4500 I think. I have to check once I'm home again. 8Gb Ram and uses like few hundred meg. The spikes come when I create full load, which at this point, it's a 4 core box so as long as I'm not hitting 25%, I'm ok, but was hoping to tune that down if possible.

Intel igb nics.

I left the following change in place:
kern.ipc.nmbclusters="1000000" along with leaving the 3 disable hardware items in the network settings.

I've been running iperf3 to generate load so i can push ~800-900Mbs in and out. I'm using some generic FQ-Codel shaping at the moment to play around with it.