OPNsense Forum

Archive => 16.7 Legacy Series => Topic started by: kleineMocke on December 14, 2016, 10:23:09 pm

Title: [SOLVED] Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: kleineMocke on December 14, 2016, 10:23:09 pm
after updating from 16.7.10 to 16.7.11 the widget >>thermal sensors<< shows nothing anymore.

the 16.7.10 config in System_advanced_misc/thermal sensors  hardware (amdtemp) was still active in 16.7.11,
also disable and reenable doesn´t help.

my hardware: pc engines APU1D4 with amd g-t40e processor

a quick check in a terminal session shows that the kernel module >>amdtemp<< is not loaded (anymore?)

test:

sysctl dev.cpu.0   --> no temperature shown
kldstat | grep amd  --> nothing

quick fix:

kldload amdtemp  --> ... Load amdtemp ...
sysctl dev.cpu.1 --> temperature shown

thermal sensors in Dashboard|Lobby also working again!

... of course until next reboot, so my question is change it in freebsd or somewhere in the opnsense config?
Title: Re: Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: max on December 15, 2016, 01:19:54 am
Same issue on Intel hardware (Dell servers).

Couldn't look into this in detail, yet. But from a first glimpse it is the same problem here: the kernel module is not loaded on boot.
Title: Re: Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: mw01 on December 15, 2016, 02:45:57 am
Same on an apu2 AMD GX-412TC SOC (4 cores).  And aesni.ko did not load on boot either, but perhaps it's built into the new kernel, but it loads.

root@a:~ # kldload aesni
root@a:~ # kldstat | grep ae
42    1 0xffffffff8261a000 2275     aesni.ko
Title: Re: Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: Solaris17 on December 15, 2016, 03:34:00 am
Same issue here on Intel hardware (coretemp)

like above work around is

# kldload coretemp
Title: Re: Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: franco on December 15, 2016, 07:20:06 am
Hot-fixed in 16.7.11_1. Thanks for the quick report!

Requires a reboot or save from the System: Settings: Misc page.
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Update 16.7.10 -> 11 thermal sensors (amdtemp)
Post by: max on December 15, 2016, 12:25:20 pm
Hi Franco,

thanks a lot for for the quick fix. I can confirm this fix works on Intel and AMD platforms, no reboot required.

As you suggested, clicking "save from the System: Settings: Misc page" after applying the hot fix works just fine.

Best
Max