OPNsense Forum

Archive => 16.7 Legacy Series => Topic started by: miclan on November 21, 2016, 11:28:19 am

Title: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: miclan on November 21, 2016, 11:28:19 am
I configured Captive Portal with Radius authentication.
Users can normally login without any problems.
Next, I configured my radius server (freeradius 3) to use MAC filtering and i enabled some devices.
Than I tried to use Captive Portal with a device that wasn't enable: the captive portal ask me to enter the credentials (username and password) and can normally login and have network access.
This wasn't what i expected: i need to give network access through Captive Portal only to the devices enabled in my radius server.
Am I missing something?
Thanks.
Title: Re: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: miclan on November 22, 2016, 02:18:05 pm
Could someone confirm me that Captive Portal works with Radius MAC address Authentication?
Title: Re: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: AdSchellevis on November 22, 2016, 06:49:19 pm
it doesn't, the mac address of the user isn't send with the authentication to the radius server.
Title: Re: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: miclan on November 23, 2016, 02:06:19 pm
It will be available in one of the next releases?
Thanks.
Title: Re: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: AdSchellevis on November 23, 2016, 02:27:38 pm
you could add a feature request in GitHub, you never know if someone wants to invest time in this.
Title: Re: RADIUS MAC authentication on Captive Portal
Post by: miclan on November 23, 2016, 02:58:35 pm
OK! Thanks!
I opened a feature request in GitHub: https://github.com/opnsense/core/issues/1270
I hope someone will add this feature in one of the next releases.