OPNsense Forum

English Forums => Sensei => Topic started by: HammerfistC64 on April 03, 2021, 09:25:50 am

Title: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: HammerfistC64 on April 03, 2021, 09:25:50 am
Hello,

Would my Hp T730 which I've installed OPNsene be up to the task of running Sensei at home on my 550/100 Mbps internet?

The HP730 has an Intel Quad nic, 8GB mem, 32GB flash SSD, Quad AMD 2.7Ghz CPU.  We have 4 Mobiles, 3 PCs, 2 Game consoles and a few IoT Devices.

I internet utilization is about 15Mbps when on average so we don't use the 550Mbps.

If so what is your go to guide?

Thanks
Title: Re: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: almodovaris on April 03, 2021, 01:24:31 pm
I think it easily handles that speed. I have an 1 GHz processor and it handles around 300 Mbps (maybe 320) with Sensei in normal mode. I found that isn't enough for my 500 Mbps, so I connected two network cables from my modem/router to WAN and OPT1 and I made Sensei bridge OPT1 to LAN.
Title: Re: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: BrandonG777 on April 19, 2021, 09:43:08 pm
Scaling options seem to depend a lot upon how many clients you have. With 8GB of memory, you max out at 100 devices, or at least what they recommend. That being said, I use it on a 1000/30 connection using a Dell Optiplex 3020 SFF, i5-4570, 8GB, 256GB SSD and Intel Quad NIC. CPU usage is minimal but memory usage usually sits around 70% (easily doubled memory usage after installing Sensei). About to upgrade to an i7-4770 and 16GB of RAM in the same box just because it's available to me. I think the number of devices/memory usage table is in the documentation somewhere, if not it talks about it during the setup wizard.
Title: Re: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: RedeyeAce on April 20, 2021, 01:49:07 pm
There are several posts concerning speed tweaks, none of which are collated. The one that made a difference for me (going from a 50% drop in bandwidth performance to 30%) was IDS-Administration-Settings-Pattern Matcher = Hyperscan , if you have a good CPU.

Your question was: Is there a goto page?  Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be one. There's a huge thread on "App control" which seems to have gotten out of hand and has all-sorts in it.

I would also like to have a sticky for this topic as a "Guide to more speed". Compared to other platforms, I seem to have lost around 30% of my bandwidth (my isp may be having a bad time atm, it can happen) and this is a comparison against competitors.

I'm running OPNSense via a vm using a quad-core i7, 28GbRam allocation; I have inconsistencies in Ram reporting with the largest report showing 15gb :o , and a 500gb ssd. There is nothing but the hypervisor on this box atm.
Title: Re: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: almodovaris on April 20, 2021, 04:24:40 pm
Well, I don't do Snort/Suricata since all my ports are closed and stealth by default.
Title: Re: Would Sensei be any good on my 550/100 Mbps home internet?
Post by: almodovaris on May 28, 2021, 07:03:22 pm
I can confirm that Sensei in bridge mode handles well my connection 600 Mbps down/40 Mbps up.

I have an APU2*4, which is older, low-specs hardware.