OPNsense Forum

English Forums => 21.1 Legacy Series => Topic started by: Maurice on March 10, 2021, 01:51:48 pm

Title: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: Maurice on March 10, 2021, 01:51:48 pm
When connecting via ssh, I'm now directly presented with the command prompt. No more menu which shows interface information, allows a config restore etc.

Anyone else seeing this? Is this the firmware UI rework mentioned in the release notes?

Cheers

Maurice
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: sorano on March 10, 2021, 02:40:04 pm
I just updated and get the normal console
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: pmhausen on March 10, 2021, 02:52:04 pm
When connecting via ssh, I'm now directly presented with the command prompt. No more menu which shows interface information, allows a config restore etc.
See screenshot ;)
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: Maurice on March 10, 2021, 03:49:17 pm
Thanks @pmhausen, but the screenshot looks exactly like my own configuration. Launching /usr/local/sbin/opnsense-shell manually works. Weird.
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: franco on March 10, 2021, 04:10:01 pm
No intentional changes, if at all. If "su" doesn't bring up the console it might be related to

https://github.com/opnsense/core/commit/bcb7c2689


Cheers,
Franco
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: Maurice on March 10, 2021, 07:49:29 pm
Going to System / Access / Users / root and saving fixed it. I didn't change anything and nothing changed in the config.xml. :o

(I saw the same behavior when using the local VGA console and echo $shell told me that it was actually running /bin/csh.)

Cheers

Maurice
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: franco on March 10, 2021, 07:52:20 pm
Need to keep an eye on this. I haven't seen similar things but then again my root user is not allowed to use SSH in the first place.


Cheers,
Franco
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: Maurice on March 10, 2021, 08:09:08 pm
I haven't seen anything like this before either. To be honest, I've never paid much attention to the user configuration. This particular installation is several years old and has been upgraded a gazillion times. And there has always been only the default root user.

The VGA console wasn't even password protected ::) and did show the same behavior after the recent update.

Weird, but no worries, works again!
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: CraigS on March 15, 2021, 08:09:03 am
Hi,

I can confirm the same issue on OPNsense 21.1.2-amd64 with 8x servers.

Launching /usr/local/sbin/opnsense-shell manually works fine.

I also confirmed Maurice fix to go into root user and hit save which worked.

Regards,
Craig
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: Maurice on April 07, 2021, 12:52:10 pm
I've recently observed this issue again (and fixed it the same way). I have a working hypothesis that this might be triggered by performing a reboot via Web interface while the same user is connected via ssh. Sounds weird, I know. Could very well be a coincidence.
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: franco on April 07, 2021, 01:28:53 pm
Best to raise a ticket now, although I'm unsure what to look for yet.


Cheers,
Franco
Title: Re: Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: bimmerdriver on April 07, 2021, 04:12:39 pm
Going to System / Access / Users / root and saving fixed it. I didn't change anything and nothing changed in the config.xml. :o

(I saw the same behavior when using the local VGA console and echo $shell told me that it was actually running /bin/csh.)

Cheers

Maurice
I'm experiencing the same problem and saving the root user did not make any difference.

For what it's worth, I noticed that the most recent update before this happened was that the SSH package was reinstalled.
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Console menu gone in 21.1.3 / 21.7.a_159?
Post by: franco on April 13, 2021, 02:10:52 pm
While playing with the new installer I noticed this too:

https://github.com/opnsense/core/commit/3f3ebd968

# opnsense-patch 3f3ebd968

Suffice to say this was development version problem only.

> I can confirm the same issue on OPNsense 21.1.2-amd64 with 8x servers.

I really doubt this and see no other version numbers to consolidate the claim... The business edition images based on 21.1.4 also worked fine in this regard while testing those last week. ;)


Cheers,
Franco