OPNsense Forum

Archive => 15.7 Legacy Series => Topic started by: cnjimmyshao on July 24, 2015, 11:05:37 am

Title: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: cnjimmyshao on July 24, 2015, 11:05:37 am
Hi,

Need a hand ~~

There is an IP address 192.168.1.1 listed in DNS servers, which comes from nowhere.

I never set this IP as a DNS server.

My current IP setting for LAN is 192.168.8.1/16.
Seems 192.168.1.1 is set by System by default?

How can I delete the 192.168.1.1 from the list of DNS servers, or anywhere to set it?

Thanks!
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: cnjimmyshao on July 24, 2015, 12:20:28 pm
attach screen shot for reference.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: MrCroa on July 24, 2015, 01:46:08 pm
Try to download the xml backup file and check it to see if there's a 192.168.1.1 somewhere. If so, maybe try to remove the entry from the file and restore it.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: cnjimmyshao on July 24, 2015, 03:30:46 pm
Good Idea.

But, there is no such "192.168.1.1" string in the XML file.

PS. I am sure "ALL" has been select in the Backup area.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhWeere?)
Post by: cnjimmyshao on July 26, 2015, 10:07:39 am
Well, still not find who to delete the IP address.
Make a clean install again, problem solved.

The issue must come from the tuning of  using dual wan by squid.
That's a really challenge.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: s.Oliver on July 27, 2015, 12:06:54 pm
hey there.

have the exact same situation. i guess it came, when i changed the ip-subnet from default (after fresh installation) 192.168.1.x to 192.168.0.x

not quite sure, if i had dual wan setup already then.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: cnjimmyshao on July 27, 2015, 04:26:13 pm
check the WAN setup, if WAN was set to be DHCP mode, the thing happens.
Title: Re: DNS server list (192.168.1.1 comes from nowhere?)
Post by: s.Oliver on July 27, 2015, 05:15:29 pm
well, WAN uses PPPoE and has to be set to DHCP  ;)
just can't remember if i setup the WAN first and then changed the LAN subnet, or not.

delete the entry out of /etc/resolv.conf but it reverts back to it.

but it seems to me, that (latest) after a change in interfaces OPNsense should parse it's dns-entries and update/correct it's list of dns-servers.