This is a follow up topic of UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply) related discussion from https://forum.opnsense.org/index.php?topic=7480.msg35033#msg35033 (https://forum.opnsense.org/index.php?topic=7480.msg35033#msg35033)
Now, NUT is in running in client mode with a synology diskstation as master. After some debugging NUT is communicating with the UPS daemon. I found out that spaces in the name input field (Nut -> UPS Type -> Netclient) breaks config file scheme.
When disrupting power the ups monitor correctly broadcasts its messages on the console (see below)
Broadcast Message from root@opnsense.fritz.box
(no tty) at 17:34 CEST...
UPS ups@x.x.x.x on battery
Broadcast Message from root@opnsense.fritz.box
(no tty) at 17:34 CEST...
UPS ups@x.x.x.x on line power
But, where can I configure additional parameters (voltage, timeout etc.) for tiggering events and what kind of events are supported beside powering down the machine?
Quote from: mimugmail on March 28, 2018, 07:48:11 PM
Can you run some commands like upsc to retrieve some values? I need them to build a status tab.
Where did you configure these values in pf?
Of course, during debugging I tested some commands of the NUT protocol in a raw telnet session connected to the ups master daemon. But, I think we should use the middleware. So, what commands may I use to retrieve information?
man upsc I'd guess
Here we go...
root@opnsense:~ # upsc ups@10.3.0.2
battery.charge: 100
battery.charge.low: 10
battery.charge.warning: 20
battery.mfr.date: CPS
battery.runtime: 3312
battery.runtime.low: 300
battery.type: PbAcid
battery.voltage: 16.0
battery.voltage.nominal: 24
device.mfr: CP900EPFCLCD
device.model: CRIB101.6M2
device.serial: CPS
device.type: ups
driver.name: usbhid-ups
driver.parameter.pollfreq: 30
driver.parameter.pollinterval: 5
driver.parameter.port: auto
driver.version: SDS6-0-8700-factory-repack-8700-170413
driver.version.data: CyberPower HID 0.3
driver.version.internal: 0.38
input.transfer.high: 260
input.transfer.low: 170
input.voltage: 225.0
input.voltage.nominal: 230
output.voltage: 260.0
ups.beeper.status: enabled
ups.delay.shutdown: 20
ups.delay.start: 30
ups.load: 8
ups.mfr: CP900EPFCLCD
ups.model: CRIB101.6M2
ups.productid: 0501
ups.realpower.nominal: 540
ups.serial: CPS
ups.status: OL
ups.test.result: No test initiated
ups.timer.shutdown: -60
ups.timer.start: -60
ups.vendorid: 0764
Please consider that variables not supported by my UPS are not displayed. Further information can be found here (esp. appendix A): http://networkupstools.org/docs/developer-guide.chunked/
remote commands supported by the ups (for security reasons blocked by the master daemon due to missing permissions):
root@opnsense:~ # upscmd -l ups@10.3.0.2
Instant commands supported on UPS [ups]:
beeper.disable - Description unavailable
beeper.enable - Description unavailable
beeper.mute - Description unavailable
beeper.off - Description unavailable
beeper.on - Description unavailable
load.off - Description unavailable
load.off.delay - Description unavailable
load.on - Description unavailable
load.on.delay - Description unavailable
shutdown.return - Description unavailable
shutdown.stayoff - Description unavailable
shutdown.stop - Description unavailable
test.battery.start.deep - Description unavailable
test.battery.start.quick - Description unavailable
test.battery.stop - Description unavailable
Cool! I'll build a page for this.
Regarding commands and parameters .. is it possible you join IRC channel? Would be quite easier to exchange.
Quote from: mimugmail on March 29, 2018, 10:14:13 AM
Cool! I'll build a page for this.
Regarding commands and parameters .. is it possible you join IRC channel? Would be quite easier to exchange.
Great idea. Unfortunately, this will be difficult for me the next time due to high work load :(
@mimugmail: Can you give me an hint, when the next update (> v.0.3) is out and I can perform some tests? Thanks.
18.1.7 will include 0.4 .. still without Diagnostics but working Setup for stabdalone and usbhid Driver. Also remote should be stable then.
With latest 18.1.7 there's 0.6, with support for standalone, netserver via NAT and netclient. Also a diagnostics page is included. Please test so this plugin can go stable 8)
After update I had re-enter the ups name. Now it runs fine in netclient mode and also the diagnostics page shows the attributes and their values.
But the dashboard says that nut is not running, which is not the case.
Nut is indeed not running, only upsmon at the bottom.
Quote from: mimugmail on May 06, 2018, 03:31:50 PM
Nut is indeed not running, only upsmon at the bottom.
You are right. For me it's a little bit confusing that the services pane shows nut is not running.
For me too, but I cant solve it better for now. If it's working for you one reason more to go for 1.0
We can solve this in the service logic in nut.inc -- it needs to be adjusted slightly to how/when nut and upsmon are used. Please drop a comment here:
https://github.com/opnsense/plugins/commit/5b110ffbe192ebbd9ef8eafe9f80588dbbdcc67e#r28620640
The change was that upsmon always runs, but nut only in the other case... right?
Cheers,
Franco
Correct
https://github.com/opnsense/plugins/commit/448f4e1c
# opnsense-patch -c plugins 448f4e1c
Cheers,
Franco