OPNsense Forum

English Forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: ccalby on December 19, 2023, 10:46:36 pm

Title: Cannot ping VLAN devices from OPNSense
Post by: ccalby on December 19, 2023, 10:46:36 pm
Hi all,

I'm new to OPNSense and networking isn't my strong point, so I'd really appreciate some support ;)

Hardware:
HP Thin Client t730 running Proxmox.
Additional PCI networking card with four ports.

OPNSense VM Networking Settings:
Code: [Select]
# network interface settings; autogenerated
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enp2s0 inet manual

iface enp1s0f0 inet manual

iface enp1s0f1 inet manual

iface enp1s0f2 inet manual

iface enp1s0f3 inet manual

#Management Port
auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.4/24
        gateway 192.168.1.254
        bridge-ports enp2s0
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0
        bridge-vlan-aware yes
        bridge-vids 2-4094
        network 255.255.255.0

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp1s0f0
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0
        bridge-vlan-aware yes
        bridge-vids 2-4094

auto vmbr2
iface vmbr2 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp1s0f1
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0
        bridge-vlan-aware yes
        bridge-vids 2-4094

auto vmbr3
iface vmbr3 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp1s0f2
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

auto vmbr4
iface vmbr4 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp1s0f3
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

VLAN Configurations:

I have setup OPNSense however I cannot ping my managed switch from within the OPNSense shell. It is on my Management VLAN. The response back is just "network down".
I can ping the network interface such as 10.10.10.1 but not the switch which is on 10.10.10.2.

I had to add the switch as a static mapping on the DHCPv4. This is because despite the switch being setup for DHCP IP config, none was assigned. However, with this static mapping, it does show as "connected" and the MAC address returns the manufacturer.

Interface Assignments:
(https://i.postimg.cc/TY4mk7nD/image.png)

VLAN Interface Configuration:
(https://i.postimg.cc/8zG2FHnq/image.png)

LAN Lagg0 Configuration:
(https://i.postimg.cc/HW0fSRhP/image.png)

Switch Configuration:
(https://i.postimg.cc/YCdQyk5R/image.png)
Title: Re: Cannot ping VLAN devices from OPNSense
Post by: ccalby on December 20, 2023, 12:18:28 pm
Updated with better screenshots / details :)