So I understand we can name interfaces and the likes, but for reasons unknown I have the following interfaces:
My_actual_LAN (opt2, vtnet3)
NOT_my_actual_LAN (lan, vtnet1)
So yes, I have already changed the 'lan' into something to my liking (i.e. NOT_my_actual_LAN) but I'd like these to match regardless.
So far, my idea is to go into a backup and change any 'opt2' into 'lan' and vice versa and then restoring that new config.
So first question: will this do what I think it does and not mess anything up if I do it correctly?
And secondly, is there an easier fix to make the system understand that vtnet3 is the actual LAN interface instead of vtnet1? Because the backup looks pretty daunting. ;D
Line 272: <interfaces>opt2,lan</interfaces>
Line 412: <opt2>
Line 422: </opt2>
Line 484: <opt2>
Line 517: </opt2>
Line 585: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1243: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1669: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1677: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1696: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1704: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1723: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1730: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1748: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1755: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1774: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1781: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1800: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1808: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1827: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1835: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1854: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1862: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1881: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1889: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1908: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1916: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1935: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1944: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1963: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1969: <network>opt2</network>
Line 1988: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 1995: <network>opt2</network>
Line 2014: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 2040: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 2066: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 2092: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 2119: <interface>opt2</interface>
Line 2125: <network>opt2</network>
Line 2618: <interface>opt3,opt2,opt1,lan</interface>
Line 2626: <interfaceslistfilter>opt3,opt2,opt1,lan,wan</interfaceslistfilter>
Line 2628: <traffic_graphs_interfaces>opt2,opt1,lan,wan</traffic_graphs_interfaces>
Line 3587: <opt2>
Line 3612: </opt2>
Line 3707: <iface_array>opt2</iface_array>
I'm sure you appreciate that LAN and WAN are more than just names. They feature in the default rules for the basic security policy out of the box.
Backup your config and then log into the console and select option 1 (Assign interfaces). Select vtnet3 as your LAN and leave whatever you have now for WAN. Set vtnet1 as OPT1 (you can rename it in the GUI).
Any mileage in swapping cables? :)
Bart...
I do, hence I want them to match. I actually only noticed from the default lockout rules where they shouldn't have been.
'Swapping cables' or simply re-assigning interfaces will mess up my rules etc no doubt.
Guess I'll be trying my backup restore idea or will be doing the config from scratch to get this fixed.